Doing business in Africa securely with export credit guarantees

The Export Credit Guarantees of the Federal Republic of Germany offer export-oriented companies different forms of cover to reduce their exposure to bad debt losses caused by economic or political factors. At the same time, they facilitate exporters’ efforts to raise finance for export business. This particularly applies to business in emerging economies and developing countries.

In the recent past, the Federal Government has launched various initiatives and implemented a number of improvements in connection with its foreign trade and investment promotion scheme with the aim of expanding economic cooperation with Africa and strengthening trade relations. Thus, it is continuing on the path on which it embarked in 2014 with its export credit guarantees and has improved the scope for cover for transactions with selected countries in sub-Saharan Africa.  

This page briefly and succinctly summarises the various solutions offered by the Federal Government as well as the scope available for using Hermes Cover to protect and finance business transactions.

News on Africa

7. Februar 2020 

The Chancellor’s trip to South Africa and Angola


19. November 2019

AGA-Report 306 "Compact with Africa"


Compact with Africa

At the G20 Africa Partnership Conference, the German Federal Government announced a number of measures aimed at helping to expand economic cooperation with Africa and to strengthen trade relations.  

The Federal Chancellor attaches particular importance to this initiative, as a video clip on the conference shows:

One key element is the improvement in the terms of export credit guarantees for the delivery of goods to and the provision of services in “Compact with Africa” nations.

“Accordingly, the uninsured percentage on Hermes Cover for transactions with public buyers has been lowered from 10 percent to 5 percent for African countries that successfully implement the Compact with Africa and, in doing so, reduce risks and improve the terms and conditions of business.”

The ten specific measures that were adopted by the Federal Government in November 2019 to strengthen economic cooperation between Africa and German companies are summarised here:

Cover policy for the individual “Compact with Africa” nations 

Who to contact for more information about African countries

Would you like to export to Africa?

We will be pleased to assist you.

Ingo Schwutke

Single Transaction Cover

Martin Schmerbach

Economic Analyses

Karina Lasch

Wholeturnover Cover (Revolving Cover)

Dr. Romeo Grill

Economic Analyses
Would you like to receive advice in person?  

Our business consultants are happy to help: 

Advice for your foreign customers

The Export Credit Guarantees of the Federal Republic of Germany are cover and financing instruments that offer not only German exporters and banks but also foreign importers a whole series of benefits. For this reason, the Federal Government has broadened its advisory services in selected countries and appointed financing experts for regions such as North and East Africa as well as the Middle East.

Finance backed by Export Credit Guarantees of the Federal Republic of Germany also offers advantages for importers in the form of better financing conditions, thus providing an interesting alternative to local loans or bond finance. 

The financing experts are also available locally to German exporters and financing banks and provide them with advice and assistance.

Eva-Christine Steinhaus

Financing expert at the German Emirati Joint Council for Industry and Commerce in the UAE (Dubai) | Middle East, North Africa

Email

M: +971 4 876 9007

https://vae.ahk.de

Eva-Christine Steinhaus, Finanzierungsexpertin für Nordafrika / Mittlerer Osten

Eva Rösler

Financing expert at the Delegation of German Industry and Commerce in Kenya (Nairobi) | East Africa

Email

M: +254 20 6633-000

https://kenia.ahk.de

Eva Rösler, Finanzierungsexpertin für Nordafrika / Mittlerer Osten

Further measures adopted by the Federal Government to assist you with your business in Africa

Africa Business Network

The Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) has established the Africa Business Network as part of the development investment fund. 

Via the Africa Business Network, BMWi is integrating the established players in the field of German export promotion with the development cooperation programmes even more tightly. This gives German companies access to a whole range of advisory services and support for their business in Africa. 

Companies can contact the Africa Business Network office directly to discuss their specific business plans. In addition, German companies are specifically alerted to business opportunities in Africa which have been previously identified, examined and prepared by the Africa Business Network. A permanent contact, the “Africa Partner”, is available at the Africa Business Network office to provide companies with optimum support with their export business. The Africa Partner offers preliminary advice and assists interested companies from the initial project idea right through to implementation. Companies that require in-depth advice are referred to other partners within the German foreign trade promotion and development cooperation system. The services provided encompass advice on project finance, business-case calculations, customs and legal questions as well as market exploration and match-making trips to Africa and assistance in building local business contacts. 

Euler Hermes Aktiengesellschaft will also be pleased to advise you on the options you have for covering your export activities in African markets. 

Africa Business Guide

Partners and companies that are interested in doing business in Africa will find in the Africa Business Guide an initial source of information as well as a platform for sharing. Developed by GTAI for the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs, the digital platform (available in German only) provides you with information which will help you to develop your business in Africa. It provides important information, a comprehensive calendar of events and details of contact persons for business in Africa.

MEP events

The market entry programme (MEP) for SMEs initiated by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy supports German exporters in their efforts to enter new markets.

The programme consists of various domestic and foreign event formats that are tailored to the interests of exporters in specific sectors and address different topics.

Marshall Plan with Africa

New partnership for development, peace and a better future

With the Marshall Plan with Africa, the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development has initiated a partnership between Africa and Europe that goes beyond individual development cooperation projects.

The Ministry’s aim is to strengthen African nations’ own development capabilities in light of the fact that a sustainably growing economy generates jobs and prosperity that will strengthen the entire continent on a long-term basis.

Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Engergy Logo

Mit Exportkreditgarantien sicher nach Afrika

Die Exportkreditgarantien des Bundes bieten exportorientierten Unternehmen verschiedene Absicherungsmöglichkeiten gegen wirtschaftlich oder politisch bedingte Forderungsausfälle an. Darüber hinaus erleichtern sie die Finanzierung eines Exportgeschäfts. Dies betrifft vor allem Geschäfte in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländer.

Um die wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit Afrika zu vertiefen und die Handelsbeziehungen zu stärken hat der Bund in der jüngeren Vergangenheit unterschiedliche Initiativen gestartet und eine Reihe von Verbesserungen in der Außenwirtschaftsförderung beschlossen. So hat die Bundesregierung im Bereich der Exportkreditgarantien ihren 2014 eingeschlagenen Kurs fortgeführt und die Deckungsmöglichkeiten für Geschäfte mit ausgewählten Staaten Subsahara-Afrikas weiter verbessert.  

Auf dieser Seite haben wir die verschiedenen Angebote der Bundesregierung sowie die Möglichkeiten der Geschäftsabsicherung und -finanzierung mit Hermesdeckungen kurz und knapp für Sie zusammengefasst.

Afrika-News

AGA-Report Spezial online

EU- und ausgewählte OECD-Länder nicht länger marktfähig: EU-Kommission erweitert staatliche Absicherungsmöglichkeiten im Kurzfristgeschäft

Weiterlesen

AGA-Report Nr. 306 online

Compact with Africa: Bundesregierung erleichtert Exportgeschäfte deutscher Unternehmen nach Afrika +++ Exportfinanzierung: Festzinsprogram...

Weiterlesen

Altmaier: „Investitionen in Afrika stärken."

19.11.2019 Altmaier: "Wir müssen private Investitionen in Afrika stärken. Denn nur das schafft langfristig Arbeitsplätze, Perspektiven und W...

Weiterlesen

Compact with Africa

Auf der G20-Compact-with-Africa-Konferenz hat die Bundesregierung eine Reihe von Maßnahmen vorgestellt, die dazu beitragen, die wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit Afrika zu vertiefen und die Handelsbeziehungen zu stärken.  

Für die Bundeskanzlerin hat dies eine zentrale Bedeutung, wie sie in einem Video-Beitrag erläutert:

Ein wesentlicher Baustein ist die Verbesserung der Konditionen von Exportkreditgarantien für Lieferungen und Leistungen in Compact-with-Africa-Staaten.

„Für afrikanische Länder, die den Compact with Africa erfolgreich umsetzen und dabei Risiken verringern und Geschäftsbedingungen verbessern, wurde daher der Selbstbehalt bei den sog. Hermesdeckungen auch bei öffentlichen Bestellern von 10 Prozent auf 5 Prozent abgesenkt“.

Die 10 konkreten Maßnahmen der Bundesregierung zur Stärkung der wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit mit Afrika und deutscher Unternehmen vom November 2019 sind hier zusammengefasst:

Länderbeschlusslagen zu den Compact-with-Africa-Staaten 

Ihre Ansprechpartner für afrikanische Länder

Sie möchten nach Afrika exportieren?

Wir unterstützen Sie gern.

Ingo Schwutke

Einzeldeckung

Martin Schmerbach

Volkswirtschaftliche Analysen

Karina Lasch

Revolvierende Deckungen (Sammeldeckungen)

Dr. Romeo Grill

Volkswirtschaftliche Analysen
Sie wünschen ein Beratungsgespräch? 

Unsere Firmenberater sind für Sie da: 

Beratung für Ihre ausländischen Kunden

Die Exportkreditgarantien des Bundes als Absicherungs- und Finanzierungsinstrument bieten nicht nur deutschen Exporteuren und Banken sondern auch ausländischen Importeuren eine ganze Reihe von Vorteilen. Daher hat der Bund seine Beratungsleistungen in ausgewählten Ländern ausgebaut und Finanzierungsexperten u.a. für die Region Nord- und Ostafrika sowie den Mittleren Osten eingesetzt.

Auch für Importeure kann sich eine mit den Exportkreditgarantien des Bundes gedeckte Finanzierung positiv auf die Finanzierungskonditionen auswirken und stellt so eine interessante Alternative zu lokalen Krediten oder Bondfinanzierungen dar. 

Die Finanzierungsexperten stehen vor Ort auch deutschen Exporteuren und finanzierenden Banken mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Eva-Christine Steinhaus

Finanzierungsexpertin AHK VAE (Dubai) | Mittlerer Osten, Nordafrika

E-Mail

+971 4 876 9007

https://vae.ahk.de

Eva-Christine Steinhaus, Finanzierungsexpertin für Nordafrika / Mittlerer Osten

Eva Rösler

Finanzierungsexpertin AHK Kenia (Nairobi) | Ostafrika

E-Mail

+254 20 6633-000

   https://kenia.ahk.de

Eva Rösler, Finanzierungsexpertin für Nordafrika / Mittlerer Osten

Weitere flankierende Maßnahmen der Bundesregierung für Ihr Afrika-Geschäft

Wirtschaftsnetzwerk Afrika

Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) hat im Rahmen des Entwicklungsinvestitionsfonds das Wirtschaftsnetzwerk Afrika initiiert. 

Mit dem Wirtschaftsnetzwerk Afrika vernetzt das BMWi die etablierten Akteure der deutschen Außenwirtschaftsförderung sowie Programme der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit noch enger. Deutschen Unternehmen wird dadurch ein gebündeltes Beratungs- und Unterstützungsangebot für ihre Afrika-Geschäfte zur Verfügung gestellt. 

Unternehmen können sich mit ihrem konkreten Geschäftsvorhaben direkt an die Geschäftsstelle des Wirtschaftsnetzwerks Afrika wenden. Zudem werden deutsche Unternehmen gezielt auf Geschäftschancen in Afrika aufmerksam gemacht, die vom Wirtschaftsnetzwerk vorab identifiziert, geprüft und aufbereitet wurden. Um sie bei ihren Exportgeschäften optimal zu unterstützen, stellt die Geschäftsstelle des Wirtschaftsnetzwerks Afrika den Unternehmen hierfür einen dauerhaften Ansprechpartner, den Afrika-Partner, zur Seite. Der Afrika-Partner bietet eine Einstiegsberatung und begleitet interessierte Unternehmen von der Projektidee bis zur Umsetzung. Für eine weiterführende Beratung leitet der Afrika-Partner an andere Stellen der deutschen Außenwirtschaftsförderung und der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit weiter. Beratung zu Projektfinanzierung, Business-Case-Berechnung sowie Zoll- und Rechtsfragen als auch Markterkundungs- oder Geschäftsanbahnungsreisen nach Afrika mit Kontaktvermittlung vor Ort sind Teil des Service-Angebots. 

Auch die Euler Hermes Aktiengesellschaft berät Sie gern zur Absicherung Ihrer Auslandsaktivitäten in afrikanischen Zielmärkten. 

Africa Business Guide

Partner und Unternehmen mit wirtschaftlichem Interesse an Afrika finden mit dem Africa Business Guide eine erste Anlaufstelle für Informationen und Austausch. Die von GTAI im Auftrag des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums entwickelte digitale Plattform informiert Sie zu Themen rund um Ihre Geschäftsanbahnung in Afrika. Hier finden Sie alle wichtigen Informationen, einen ausführlichen Veranstaltungskalender und Ansprechpartner zu Afrika auf einen Blick. 

MEP-Veranstaltungen

Das Markterschließungsprogramm (MEP) für KMU des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie unterstützt deutsche Exporteure bei ihrem Einstieg in neue Märkte.

Das Programm besteht aus verschiedenen in- und ausländischen Veranstaltungsformaten, die auf das Interesse der Exporteure branchen- und thematisch spezifisch zugeschnitten sind.

Marshallplan mit Afrika

Neue Partnerschaft für Entwicklung, Frieden und Zukunft

Das BMZ hat hat mit dem Marshallplan mit Afrika eine Partnerschaft zwischen Afrika und Europa entwickelt, die über eine projektbezogene Entwicklungszusammenarbeit hinausgeht.
Ziel des BMZ ist, in den afrikanischen Staaten die eigenen Entwicklungskräfte zu stärken. Denn mit einer nachhaltig wachsenden Wirtschaft werden Jobs und Wohlstand generiert, die den Kontinent nachhaltig stärken.

Default Alt-Tag