Default Alt-Tag

Insuring export business as exporter/financier

As of 01.07.2014 the Federal Government will offer an optimized version of the Counter-guarantee with the aim to reduce the inevitable administrative burden and to improve legal certainty for all involved.

Fundamentally the following changes, which will further reduce the complexity of this product, will become effective for all first decisions taken on or after 01.07.2014:

  • The Federal Government charges the first premium payable for the period until the end of the first calendar year as advance premium.
  • Subsequent premium payments will be invoiced only once a year.
  • The 20-day deadline with regard to the effectiveness of the Counter-guarantee does not apply any more.
  • The approval of the Federal Government for an extension of guarantees which are limited in time is no longer required.

See also AGA-Report Nr. 240 (German version only)

As of 01.10.2015 additional information will be requested in the self-disclosure form in order to obtain a broader database for the decisions. Therefore, please use the revised form for the self-disclosure of the exporter applying for cover.

 

Product at a glance

The Counter-guarantee complements a Contract Bond Guarantee and thus cannot be used independently. It enables German exporters to ease the pressure on their credit lines. Especially small and medium-sized companies can enhance their liquidity with it.

The Counter-guarantee provides security (it is a guarantee commitment) in favour of the guarantor. The guarantor can be a bank or surety company. The Counter-guarantee relieves the guarantor in large part of the risk that he is unable to successfully take recourse for compensation to the exporter. If the bond is called, the Federal Government will reimburse the guarantor for the guaranteed share of the bond amount paid out (maximum 80 %). The reimbursement is made on first demand and, above all, irrespective of the reason for calling. Hence the Counter-guarantee is more than just an indemnity bond and a reimbursement is made also in case of a fair calling.

The Federal Government has a recourse claim on the exporter in the amount paid out to the guarantor. This is payable 6 months after the guarantor is reimbursed at the latest. If by that time it has been confirmed that the exporter has a valid indemnification claim under the corresponding Contract Bond Guarantee because the contract bond was called, this will be set off against the claim to recourse. Although a bond issued on request of the exporter is called, there would be no liquidity drain at the exporter in that case.

 

Target group

  • As applicant: German export firms
  • As beneficiaries of the Counter-guarantee:
    • German banks / surety companies
    • branch offices of foreign banks / surety companies with a seat in Germany
    •  foreign banks / surety companies (under certain conditions)

 

Special features

Although the Counter-guarantee protects the guarantor, it is the exporter who has to apply for it and not the guarantor.

As a rule, a Counter-guarantee will only be granted if parallel a Contract Bond Guarantee for the contract bond to be covered is granted by the Federal Republic. In principle, supplier credit cover is also required. This may be dispensed with if the exporter is not exposed to any foreign payment risks because of the payment terms (e.g. confirmed letter of credit, progress payment). On a case-by-case basis, the Federal Government may grant a Counter-guarantee in combination with a Contract Bond Guarantee also without cover of the other risks of an export transaction if such cover is not available or insurance is not acceptable or not wished by the exporter.

Whether a Counter-guarantee will be granted is conditional upon the exporter having the necessary technical and organizational resources to ensure the due performance of the export transaction. The exporter’s ability to ensure performance is assessed by means of a questionnaire to be completed by him.

From the moment a Counter-guarantee is granted until a reimbursement is made the administration will be handled exclusively between the Federal Government and the guarantor. For this purpose the guarantor has to sign a  so-called “Ergänzungserklärung des Garantiestellers zur Avalgarantie” prior to the final commitment and also perform certain information duties in time.

 

Premium

  • No extra premium is charged for a Counter-guarantee. Instead, the Federal Government receives a share in the bond premium, which the exporter had to pay to the guarantor for issuing a contract bond, directly from the guarantor.
  • The usual premium has to be paid for the compulsory Contract Bond Cover and any Supplier Credit Cover which may be required.

This product can be applied for online.

Downloads

Andreas Gehring

Manufacturing Risk Cover; Credit Confirmation Risk Cover; Counter-Guarantee; Securitisation Guarantee for the KfW Refinancing Programme;

- Customer Service

Please do not hesitate to contact us!

Matthias Jost

Counter-Guarantee; Export Credit Cover for Service Providers

Country cover policy of more than 200 countries.

Default Alt-Tag

Avalgarantie

Exporte absichern als Exporteur (Antragsteller)/Finanzierer (Begünstigter)

Ab 01.07.2014 bietet die Bundesregierung eine optimierte Avalgarantie an, um insgesamt den erforderlichen administrativen Aufwand zu vermindern und mehr Rechtssicherheit für alle Beteiligten zu schaffen.

 

Für Erstentscheidungen ab 01.07.2014 treten im Kern folgende Änderungen in Kraft, mit denen die Komplexität dieses Produktes weiter reduziert wird:

 

  • Der Bund erhebt das Erstentgelt bis zum Ende des laufenden Kalenderjahres als Vorausentgelt.
  • Weitere Entgeltabrechnungen erfolgen nur noch einmal im Jahr.
  • Die 20-Tage-Frist bezüglich der Wirksamkeit der Avalgarantie entfällt.
  • Der Bund muss der Verlängerung von befristeten Garantien nicht mehr zustimmen.

 

Siehe auch AGA- Report Nr. 240.

 

Ab 01.10.2015 werden im Rahmen der Selbstauskunft zusätzliche Angaben abgefragt, um die Entscheidungen auf eine breitere Datenbasis zu stellen. Verwenden Sie daher bitte das überarbeitete Formular für die Selbstauskunft des Antrag stellenden Exporteurs.

 

Kurzbeschreibung

Die Avalgarantie ist eine Ergänzung zur Vertragsgarantiedeckung und somit nicht eigenständig einsetzbar. Sie ermöglicht es deutschen Exporteuren, die eigene Kreditlinie zu entlasten. Insbesondere kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen können dadurch ihre Liquidität verbessern.

 

Die Avalgarantie ist eine Sicherheit (Garantieversprechen) zu Gunsten des Garantiestellers. Garantiesteller kann ein Kreditinstitut oder ein Kautionsversicherer sein. Diesem nimmt die Avalgarantie im wesentlichen Umfang dessen Regressrisiko auf den Exporteur ab. Kommt es zur Ziehung des Garantiebetrags, erstattet der Bund dem Garantiesteller diesen bis in Höhe der garantierten Quote (max. 80 %). Die Erstattung erfolgt auf erstes Anfordern und insbesondere unabhängig vom Ziehungsgrund. Die Erstattungszahlung erfolgt auch im Falle des fair calling.

 

Dem Bund steht gegenüber dem Exporteur ein Regressanspruch in Höhe der Erstattungszahlung zu. Dieser wird spätestens 6 Monate nach der Erstattungszahlung fällig. Sollte bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt feststehen, dass zu Gunsten des Exporteurs wegen der Garantieziehung ein Entschädigungsanspruch unter der Vertragsgarantiedeckung besteht, wird dieser mit dem Regressanspruch verrechnet. Trotz Ziehung einer im Auftrag des Exporteurs herausgelegten Garantie würde somit in diesem Fall keinerlei Liquidität beim Exporteur abfließen.

 

Zielgruppe

  • als Antragsteller: deutsche Exportunternehmen
  • als Begünstigte der Avalgarantie:
    • deutsche Kreditinstitute / Kautionsversicherer
    • in Deutschland ansässige Zweigniederlassungen ausländischer Banken / Kautionsversicherer
    • ausländische Banken / Kautionsversicherer (unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen)

 

Besonderheiten

Die Avalgarantie muss vom Exporteur beantragt werden, obwohl es sich um eine Sicherheit zu Gunsten des Garantiestellers handelt.

 

Zwingende Voraussetzung für den Erhalt einer Avalgarantie ist, dass für die abzusichernde Vertragsgarantie zugleich eine Vertragsgarantiedeckung vom Bund übernommen wird. Grundsätzlich ist auch eine Lieferantenkreditdeckung erforderlich. Diese ist jedoch immer dann entbehrlich, wenn der Exporteur keine ausländischen Zahlungsrisiken hat, insbesondere aufgrund der Zahlungsbedingungen (z.B. bestätigtes Akkreditiv, progress payment-Zahlung). In Einzelfällen kann die Avalgarantie vom Bund auch isoliert (Vertragsgarantiedeckung mit Avalgarantie), d.h. ohne Deckung der sonstigen Risiken des Exportgeschäfts übernommen werden, wenn die Übernahme einer Lieferantenkreditdeckung nicht möglich, nicht zumutbar oder vom Exporteur nicht gewollt ist.

 

Für die Übernahme der Avalgarantie ist entscheidend, dass der Exporteur technisch und betriebswirtschaftlich in der Lage ist, seine Verpflichtungen aus dem Exportgeschäft zu erfüllen. Die Prüfung dieser Voraussetzung erfolgt auf der Grundlage einer vom Exporteur abzugebenden Selbstauskunft.

 

Beginnend mit Übernahme der Avalgarantie erfolgt bis zum Zeitpunkt der Erstattungszahlung die administrative Abwicklung ausschließlich zwischen Bund und Garantiesteller. Der Garantiesteller hat hierzu u.a. vor endgültiger Entscheidung die sog. „Ergänzungserklärung des Garantiestellers zur Avalgarantie“ abzugeben und ihm obliegt auch die rechtzeitige Vornahme bestimmter Mitteilungspflichten.

 

Entgelt

  • Es wird vom Exporteur kein separates Avalgarantie-Entgelt erhoben. Der Bund erhält vielmehr vom Garantiesteller einen Teil des Avalentgelts ausbezahlt, die der Exporteur für die Herauslegung der Vertragsgarantie an den Garantiesteller zu zahlen hat. Zu diesem Zweck erhält der Garantiesteller jeweils eine Rechnung des Bundes für das Erst- und Folgeentgelt; dabei wird zunächst ein Vorausentgelt erhoben, das jeweils am Ende eines Kalenderjahres bzw. bei Haftungsende endgültig abgerechnet wird
  • Für die zwingend erforderliche Vertragsgarantiedeckung und die ggf. notwendige Lieferantenkreditdeckung sind die üblichen Entgelte zu zahlen.

Downloads

Andreas Gehring

Fabrikationsrisikodeckung; Akkreditivbestätigungsrisikodeckung; Avalgarantie; Verbr...

- Kundenberatung

Sprechen Sie uns bei Fragen gern an!

Matthias Jost

Avalgarantie; Leistungsdeckung

Die Beschlusslage zu mehr als 200 Ländern finden Sie in den Länderinformationen.