Default Alt-Tag

Corruption-free exports and financing

The corruption-free transaction of export business and its financing is of great importance to the Federal Government because it considers this to be a crucial aspect of sustainability. Accordingly, the absence of corruption is also a major criterion for a transaction’s eligibility for support. In connection with the granting of export credit guarantees, this means that:

  • no export credit guarantees will be provided for transactions which were arranged through corrupt acts
  • in the event that corrupt acts become known after cover has been granted, the Federal Government is released from its liability pursuant to the General Terms and Conditions of cover

The OECD plays a key role in establishing and enhancing uniform standards for the prevention of bribery in international trade. This also applies to state export credit agencies (ECAs). For them, the OECD sets the framework for the granting of state export credit guarantees with the so-called Recommendation of the Council on Bribery and Officially Supported Export Credits. The Federal Government has always been actively involved at the OECD in shaping the principles on which the fight against corruption is based and thus helped to establish fair international trading conditions and a level playing field and promote responsible corporate behaviour between the parties involved.

The Federal Government explicitly recommends the implementation of a suitable Compliance System that makes an effective prevention of bribery possible to exporters and banks doing foreign business. When, in connection with granting and handling of a state export credit guarantee, it comes to determining whether an export contract and/or an export loan agreement was transacted by the parties involved free of corruption, the respective applicable law is always relevant.

Symbolbild Netz

Two-step implementation of the recommendations

 

1. Anti-Corruption Declaration

Exporters and banks must sign an anti-corruption declarationis any indi in connection with each application for an export credit guarantee they submit.

Key elements of this declaration are:

  • confirmation that the contract, which is to be covered, has been brought about free of corruption
  • information on any criminal charges, (criminal) investigations, sentences, official measures and arbitral awards in connection with corrupt actions not linked to the contract in question

 

2. In-depth examination of individual cases

If there is any indication that there may have been corruption-related incidents, either in this anti-corruption declaration or from other sources, an enhanced due diligence will be performed in a second step. In the course of this in-depth examination, the Compliance Management System of the company in question (inter alia, in-house measures, processes and structures implemented to prevent and combat bribery) will be analysed on the one hand. On the other hand, a closer look will be taken at the circumstances under which the concrete contract underlying the cover was concluded and any indications of corruption will be examined.

 

Additional information

You will find additional information on the subject prevention of corruption under the following links:

Default Alt-Tag

Korruptionsfreiheit von Exportgeschäften und -finanzierungen

Die Korruptionsfreiheit von Exportgeschäften und deren Finanzierung stellt für die Bundesregierung einen zentralen Aspekt nachhaltigen Handelns dar. Dementsprechend ist die Korruptionsfreiheit auch ein wesentliches Kriterium für die Förderungswürdigkeit eines Geschäftes. Dies bedeutet im Zusammenhang mit der Übernahme von Exportkreditgarantien, dass:

  • für Geschäfte, die durch korruptive Handlungen zustande gekommen sind, keine Exportkreditgarantien übernommen werden
  • im Fall des Bekanntwerdens von korruptiven Handlungen nach Deckungsübernahme sich der Bund gemäß den Allgemeinen Bedingungen auf Haftungsbefreiung berufen kann.

Die OECD übernimmt eine wesentliche Rolle in der Etablierung und Weiterentwicklung von einheitlichen Standards zur Korruptionsbekämpfung im internationalen Handel. Dies gilt auch für den Bereich der staatlichen Exportkreditversicherungen (ECAs), für die die OECD in der sog. Recommendation of the Council on Bribery and Officially Supported Export Credits die Rahmenbedingungen für die Übernahme staatlicher Exportkreditgarantien setzt. Die Bundesregierung gestaltet seit jeher die Grundlagen der Korruptionsbekämpfung auf OECD-Ebene aktiv mit, um auch auf diese Weise mitzuhelfen, international geltende, faire Wirtschafts- und Wettbewerbsbedingungen zu etablieren und verantwortungsvolles unternehmerisches Handeln zwischen den beteiligten Parteien zu fördern.

Exporteuren und Banken, die Auslandsgeschäfte betreiben, wird seitens der Bundesregierung ausdrücklich die Einführung eines adäquaten Compliance-Systems empfohlen, das eine effektive Korruptionsprävention ermöglicht. Für die Frage der Korruptionsfreiheit bei Übernahme und Abwicklung einer staatlichen Exportkreditgarantie ist grundsätzlich das jeweils anwendbare Recht maßgeblich im Hinblick auf das Exportgeschäft bzw. die Exportfinanzierung sowie auf die daran beteiligten Parteien.

Symbolbild Netz

Zweistufige Umsetzung der Empfehlungen: 

1. ERKLÄRUNG ZUR KORRUPTIONSPRÄVENTION 

Exporteure und Banken müssen für jeden Antrag auf eine Exportkreditgarantie eine Erklärung zur Korruptionsprävention abgeben.

Zentrale Bestandteile der Erklärung sind:

  • Erklärung über die Korruptionsfreiheit des konkret zu deckenden Geschäfts
  • Angaben zu etwaigen Anklagen, (Ermittlungs-)Verfahren, Urteilen, behördlichen Maßnahmen sowie Schiedssprüchen im Zusammenhang mit korruptiven Handlungen unabhängig von dem konkreten Geschäft 
     

2. VERTIEFTE KORRUPTIONSPRÜFUNG IM EINZELFALL

Ergeben sich aus der Erklärung zur Korruptionsprävention oder anderen Quellen Hinweise auf korruptionsrelevante Sachverhalte, kommt es in der zweiten Stufe zu einer vertieften Korruptionsprüfung. Hierbei werden zum einen das Compliance Management System des betreffenden Unternehmens (u.a. die innerbetrieblichen Maßnahmen, Prozesse und Strukturen zur Korruptionsprävention und Korruptionsbekämpfung) untersucht. Zum anderen werden die Hintergründe des Zustandekommens des konkreten, der Deckung zugrundeliegenden Geschäfts näher beleuchtet und den Hinweisen auf etwaige korruptive Handlungen weiter nachgegangen.

 

Weiterführende Informationen

Weitergehende Informationen zum Thema Korruptionsprävention finden Sie auf den folgenden Seiten: