Default Alt-Tag

Animal husbandry

In connection with animal husbandry and animal transport projects animal welfare issues play an important role. Therefore, the Federal Government has championed stricter animal welfare standards for foreign trade promotion within the OECD and the World Bank Group.

 Where animal husbandry projects within the scope of application of the OECD-Common Approaches are concerned, the World Bank Operational Safeguard Policies and/or the Performance Standards on Environmental and Social Sustainability of the International Finance Corporation as well as the relevant Environmental, Health and Safety (EHS) Guidelines (Poultry Production, Poultry Processing, Mammalian Livestock Production, etc.) of the World Bank Group apply. Besides, the IFC Good Practice Note on Animal Welfare in Livestock Operation (including the so-called Five Freedoms of Animal Welfare) is used as guidance for the assessment of animal welfare issues.

These days, the majority of German deliveries for livestock operations already meet EU standards. However, in connection with foreign trade promotion the Federal Government does not consider it appropriate to exclusively apply German/EU standards to livestock operations. If only Germany applied EU standards, suppliers from other countries would normally win the contracts and there would not be any positive effect on animal welfare.

Animal welfare issues, which play a role in the assessment of environmental, social and human rights issues, include, for example, the access to fresh water and feed, adequate housing, veterinary standards, the possibility to express normal behaviour and processes to avoid distress and fear, etc. 

For transactions relating to animal husbandry to which the Common Approaches do not apply, a risk assessment of animal welfare issues is usually carried out.

Default Alt-Tag

Tierhaltung

Bei Projekten im Bereich Tierhaltung und -transport nimmt das Thema Tierwohl einen hohen Stellenwert ein. Die Bundesregierung hat sich daher innerhalb der OECD und der Weltbankgruppe für strengere Tierhaltungsstandards für die Außenwirtschaftsförderung eingesetzt. 

Bei Tierhaltungsprojekten im Anwendungsbereich der OECD-Common Approaches finden die World Bank Operational Safeguard Policies bzw. die Performance Standards on Environmental and Social Sustainability der International Finance Corporation sowie die relevanten Environmental, Health and Safety (EHS) Guidelines (Poultry Production, Poultry Processing, Mammalian Livestock Production etc.) der Weltbank-Gruppe Anwendung. Zur Beachtung tierschutzrechtlicher Aspekte wird zudem die IFC Good Practice Note on Animal Welfare in Livestock Operations (inklusive der so genannten Five Freedoms of Animal Welfare) als Orientierungshilfe herangezogen.  

Die Mehrzahl der Lieferungen für Tierhaltungsanlagen aus Deutschland hält bereits heute EU-Standards ein. In der Außenwirtschaftsförderung bei Tierhaltungsanlagen jedoch vollständig auf deutsche/EU-Standards abzustellen, hält die Bundesregierung hingegen für nicht zielführend. Bei der Berücksichtigung von EU-Standards allein durch Deutschland, kämen in der Regel Lieferanten aus anderen Ländern zum Zuge und es wäre kein positiver Beitrag zum Tierwohl erzielt worden.  

Tierwohl-Aspekte, die im Rahmen der Prüfung von Umwelt-, Sozial- und Menschenrechtsaspekten zum Tragen kommen, berücksichtigen beispielsweise den Zugang zu frischem Wasser und Futter, eine geeignete Unterbringung, veterinärmedizinische Vorgaben, die Möglichkeit zum Ausleben normaler Verhaltensmuster und Prozesse zur Vermeidung von Leid und Angst usw.

Bei Geschäften im Zusammenhang mit Tierhaltung außerhalb des Anwendungsbereichs der Common Approaches erfolgt für gewöhnlich eine Risikoprüfung der tierschutzrechtlichen Aspekte.